home

Armenia

Cover Photo

From my drafts — Eurasia Trip!

So, here’s a life update. Sold my first camera. Moved back to Dubai. Got a new job. 

January, I went to this pretty country called Armenia and since, hindi naman ako expert in travel blogging, please don’t expect this to be that How to Armenia or even, Here’s the detailed itinerary kind of thing. I’ll just share a wonderful 1 week of my life.

LRM_EXPORT_20180612_191636

(Air Arabia and Fly Dubai are the recommended airlines.)

From Dubai, the travel time is 3 hours. I landed in Yerevan, the capital, at 4:30pm but reached the hostel around 6pm. As per my travel agent I just have to call the hostel where I’m staying for a pick up and it’ll be cheaper than advance booking but guess what? It’s not. Mas malaki binayad ko kasi ako lang mag-isa sa van. So, as per my experience, go with advance booking. Regarding the visa, I paid $7 or 3000 AMD (Armenian Dram) for a 21-Day Single Entry visa. (Please bring USD or EUR only)

Mejo malayo din yung airport sa mismong center ng Yerevan, around 20 to 30 minute ride. ‘Nung nasa airport ako, cab drivers approached me na magpahatid na lang sa kanila rather than hintayin yung service from the hostel but I refused kasi alam nyo na, double ang price kung Airport taxi ka sasakay. While on the way to the hostel, tinanong ko si David (sya ‘yung sumundo sakin.) some things about Yerevan and the whereabouts pero medyo nagkaron kami ng problema sa communication dahil hindi siya masyado marunong mag-english but he tried his best to give me #tipidtips.

LRM_EXPORT_20180626_222021

Nag-stay ako sa Yerevan Hostel, with roommates, #backpackermove. I paid $7 per night which is very affordable, ‘yung tipong hindi ka magkakaron ng guilt feeling every night na matutulog ka. I need to highlight this, friendly staff, they are warm and very approachable. A lot of backpackers are staying there because of good service and cheap room rates. I stayed in a unit with a Filipina, Turkish, Iranian and 1 local but we’re just 2 in our room.

First night, I walked around the Republic Square na malapit lang sa hostel to find cheap local restaurant but I ended up eating in Burger King na masyadong mahal. (Lesson learned: Mas mahal kumain sa food chain sa Yerevan. Mas okay kung maglolocal restaurant.) 

LRM_EXPORT_20180704_221713

Next day, walked around the city with my room mate. Maganda talaga ang Yerevan lalo na sa umaga. Naalala ko bigla si Judy Abbott, siya kasi ‘yung favorite ko ‘nung bata ako at nakatira sya sa mga building na kagaya ng mga buildings dito na may chimneys. LOL

LRM_EXPORT_20180704_221631

LRM_EXPORT_20180521_184804

LRM_EXPORT_20180521_192852

Since meron lang akong dalang city map and kelangan na ng kasama ko umalis, I tried asking some locals for direction but they (siguro mga limang tao yun) refused to talk to me. Medyo na-isnab ako at nagkaron ng “hindi sila approchable” na impression sa locals. At dun na nga ‘ko nawalan ng pag-asa ng makakilala ng kaibigan na Armenian. Hinanap ko parin ang way ‘ko papunta sa mga supermarket pero hindi ako nag-dare na kumain sa local restaurants dahil sa fear na hindi nila ako maintindihan at mag-end up lang na maging irritable ako. Nagpapalit ako ng pera sa SAS Supermarket since dun mataas ang exchange rate sabi nung receptionist sa hostel tapos bumili na lang ako ng croissant for snacks. Nung gabi na, meron akong nakita na KFC and though alam ko na pricey, dun nalang ako kumain. (Hindi ordinary na KFC yung meron sila. Iba yung chicken nila pati fries.)

The next day, sumama ako sa isang tour outside of Yerevan with some Filipinos who are also staying in the same hostel and that’s where I met my local friend, Hermine.

We had a great time sharing stories (the deep ones). It’s true that a stranger is a good listener.

I look forward to seeing this country again. ❤

-Ms. Maligaya

Leave a comment